How to block or unblock someone on TikTok

TikTok has over one billion known and anonymous users worldwide, but that doesn’t mean you have to interact with everybody. If you’re receiving unwanted attention, you can block users. Once blocked, they can not view your videos or engage with you through direct messages, comments, follows, or likes. Here’s how to block someone on TikTok or unblock them if you change your mind.

Read more: How to block or unblock someone on iMessage

QUICK ANSWER

To block or unblock someone on TikTok, navigate their profile page and select Settings–> Block or Unblock.


JUMP TO BLOCK OR UNBLOCK?

How to block someone on TikTok

For this example, we’ll be blocking a TikTok spam account. Anyone that promises ways to get rich quickly is a big red flag for a scam.

Firstly, find the profile page of the person you want to block. Then tap the 3-dot icon in the top right and select Block from the bottom options.

Block TikTok

Adam Birney / Android Authority

After that, tap Confirm to confirm your decision.

block confirm TikTok

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Often, these types of scam accounts will mass-follow a bunch of people to dup the less skeptical. Take a look at who follows you on TikTok, and be sure to block and report them if they seem suspicious. For example, the above account promises that those who reply to their videos will “get a sum of money to repay their debts.” If only it were that easy.

How to block people in bulk

Unfortunately, spam and scams aren’t limited to profiles that follow you but often infiltrate the comments section of your videos. Luckily, TikTok has a bulk block feature that lets you block up to 100 accounts at a time.

Tap and hold a comment to select it. You can then select multiple comments at once, up to 100. Then, tap More in the bottom right.

select comments

Adam Birney / Android Authority

block accounts

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Lastly, confirm your decision to block the number of selected accounts.

block bulk

Adam Birney / Android Authority

How to unblock someone on TikTok

If you’ve blocked a friend by accident, don’t worry: you can unblock them in just two taps.

Find the person’s profile page and tap the 3-dot icon in the top right. Then, tap Unblock from the bottom of the screen.

unblock TikTok

Adam Birney / Android Authority

When you block someone on TikTok, they will no longer follow you or be able to view, like, or comment on your videos or send you direct messages.

Can you block hashtags on TikTok?

Yes, you can block specific hashtags from the parental control settings on TikTok.

Leave a Comment